Rose Swirl Cake


I made this Chocolate Rose Swirl cake for a friend: It was her sister’s 50th birthday. This cake is very simple to make and decorate. I love how the rose swirls create such a beautiful cover. I added the pink flowers to break it up and give it a touch of colour.
I’ve put together a quick HOW TO so you can recreate this look.
Hopefully you enjoy creating this as much as I did.

swirl1

What you need:
Cake recipe of your choice – I used Devil’s Food Cake
Chocolate butter cream frosting
Fondant
Tylose powder

Tools:
Wilton 1M tip
5 Petal cutter
Embossing/Texture/Impression mat
Piping bag
Rolling pin
Cake board
Drinking glass
Aluminium foil

How to create rose swirls:

swirl3

I’ve included a YouTube tutorial by Lori’s Bakery that helped me with this rose swirl technique. Hopefully it will help you to!

To make the flowers:

swirl2

I used fondant and added tylose powder. Roll the fondant out to 2mm thickness. Use an embossing mat at this point.I don’t actually own a proper embossing mat, they can be quite expensive. I do however own a heart shaped cookie cutter set that came with some embossing mats. I used the second mat pictured and used my fingers to apply enough pressure to transfer the pattern on to the fondant. To get a continuous pattern going, when you get close to the edge of the heart, stop and reposition the mat where you left off and reapply pressure. I think this is a great way to hone skills – you don’t need to own every piece of cake decorating supplies in order to achieve the look you are after.  Remember to lightly cover your embossing mat with cornstarch to prevent the fondant from sticking. Once you have embossed your fondant, use the petal cutter.

81003_2

I used a 5 Petal Plunger Cutter. I find these so easy to use. You can use a conventional cutter also, just be sure to gently apply pressure to the fondant when removing it from the cutter. Too much pressure you can indent or mis-shape the fondant.

                      blossom-plunger-cutter_2_lg copy cutter

 To give the flower some shape, cover a glass with aluminium foil and create a shallow dip. Place the flower in this dip and it will dry to that shape. Again… cost saving! Allow to dry overnight.

Five-petal-fantasy-flowe-former

Use some left over butter cream frosting to apply the flowers to the cake.

swirl

Untitled-2 copy

One thought on “Rose Swirl Cake

  1. Pingback: Cake Decorating Basics #5 | Carey & Bell

Leave a Reply

