Renovation Update – September 2012


Vertical Gardening

So, the previous owner planted some Chinese star jasmine in the front garden beds. Love the jasmine, but they planted them and let them be. So it literally became a pile of jasmine. You can see the jasmine plants at the base of each of the fence posts.

IMG_0432

INSPIRATION
I had a thought to have the jasmine trelis along the fence creating a vertical garden.

b73d6a

My husband, who always shudders when I tell him I have an idea, very kindly helped me with the project and told me what materials to use. We had planned to give the fence a fresh lick of paint, as it was slightly green!

What you need:
Chicken wire
Shade cloth (optional)

After we had painted the fence, we put up some green shade cloth and attached it along the fence. You don’t need to use shade cloth, but I didn’t want the jasmine poking out between the fence paling, so used the shade cloth as a barrier.

IMG_0458

Once the shade cloth was up, we repeated the process with chicken wire.

IMG_0466

Then I started to untangle the jasmine and weave it through the chicken wire. There was one plant in particular that was very well established, and in the process of trying to untangle it, I broke one of the main branches. Which in hindsight was good, as there was SO much of it left!

IMG_0468

This was the finished product at the time. It has since covered a lot more space, but I don’t have any updated pictures right now. Will upload some later.

      IMG_0474IMG_0473

We mirrored the look on the other side. The shorter retaining wall had a Christmas bush growing, whilst the larger (on the left) had 4 citrus plants. So we dug out the Christmas bush and planted another 2 citrus plants and bought 2 more Chinese Star Jasmines. I’m a sucker for symmetry!

      IMG_0540IMG_0541

To add some colour, I bought some Salvias and created a border along both retaining walls.
The reason I chose Salvias was to try and encourage more bees to the garden beds to help pollinate the citrus trees.
                                    IMG_0653IMG_0918
Untitled-2 copy
One thought on “Renovation Update – September 2012

Leave a Reply

