Flourless Anything Crumble


Why the “anything” crumble… simple, use whatever fruit you fancy (apple, pears, berries)!

The basis of this recipe comes from Gwyneth Paltrow’s ‘It’s all good’ cookbook. I’ve modified this recipe as I wanted to use what I had in the pantry. It’s a very simple recipe and anyone can make this! I put this together last night in 30 minutes (start to finish), and it tasted so good, I went back for seconds!
For my fruit layer, I used Nannas frozen mixed berries. I ended up using golden syrup as I didn’t have any maple syrup left, and as you know, maple syrup (good quality stuff) is $6-8 for 250ml at Coles or Woolies. So, golden syrup it was. I also added verjuice to the fruit mix. The original recipe doesn’t use this at all, but a friend at work told me about verjuice and how it tends to bring out the flavour in fruit. So figured I’d give it a go. Oh and the cinnamon sugar… it’s a personal favourite of mine and I just had to sprinkle a bit on top of the crumble to ensure that there was some degree of caramelization! If you don’t like cinnamon, you could substitute it for any other dessert spice like cardamom and clove.

I hope you enjoy this as much as I did!

  photo3photo6

INGREDIENTS:
4 cups fruit (your choice)
4 tablespoons golden syrup (or good quality maple syrup)
1 tablespoon freshly squeezed lemon juice
1/2 cup almond meal
1/2 cup quinoa flakes
1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon
2 tablespoons extra virgin olive oil
a pinch of fine sea salt
1 tablespoon verjuice (optional)
1 tablespoon cinnamon sugar (optional)

photo4

METHOD:
1. Preheat oven to 200 degrees Celsius.
2. Put fruit, lemon juice, verjuice and 2 tablespoons golden syrup into a shallow baking dish and toss together using a spoon.
3. In a separate bowl, mix together quinoa flakes, almond meal, salt, cinnamon. Add 2 tablespoons golden syrup and olive oil to dry ingredients and mix until just combined.
4. Crumble the mixture over the fruit, sprinkle cinnamon sugar over crumble.
5. Bake until the topping is golden brown and the fruit is bubbling.
Approximately 20-25 minutes.

crumble2crumble

The art of living like Gwyneth

it-s-all-good

Untitled-2 copy

Leave a Reply

